Seyisfjörur fjord is long and narrow and flanked by high mountains. At its head lies a town which, bears the same name as the fjord itself. The river Fjarará flows through Seyisfjörur town and it has one of the best natural harbours in the country. The town of Seyisfjörur experienced an economic boom just before the turn of the last century, when the Norwegian Otto Wathne and other entrepreneurs began fishing and processing herring on a major scale. Thus the oldest part of the town is built in 19th century Norwegian-style architecture, making Seyisfjörur unique among Icelandic fishing towns. The sub-oceanic telegraph cable that linked Iceland with the outside world came ashore there in 1906 and soon connected the rest of the country through overhead lines. During World War II Seyisfjörur became a major military base. Seyisfjörur is the closest Icelandic port to the Faeroe Islands and Europe. Since 1975 a Faeroese passenger and car ferry has operated scheduled weekly sailings between Seyisfjörur and Scandinavia during the summer, and this has attracted considerable tourism to the area. The cultural life is very lively during the summer. The Á Seyi Art festival is a yearly event. The Blue Church has concerts every Wednesday in summer. Art exhibitions are at the cultural center and a Crafts Market. There is a swimming pool, a golf course, mini golf and the Rarik electricity museum. Also offered are guided sightseeing tours, cruises, sea angling tours, and trips to Lomundarfjörur fjord. There are a variety of marked hiking trails in the area, and fishing licenses are available for purchase.